Return to Headlines

June 12, 2020 Superintendent's Weekly Update

Hello Lancer Families,


I hope this email finds everyone well.  We are entering the final week of digital learning, and thank you just doesn’t seem to capture the gratitude I have for all our parents and guardians who have been supporting their student’s learning throughout the last twelve weeks.  I know it has not been easy juggling multiple responsibilities in what has been a challenging time for everyone, but you are all deeply appreciated.


I want to thank everyone who cast their absentee ballot for the school budget and Board of Education vote.  All ballots are due by mail no later than 5:00 p.m. next Tuesday, June 16th.  Ballots will be tallied beginning that night at 5:15 p.m. and results will be shared with the community on our website and social media throughout the night and again when the tabulation is complete.    


We continue to serve meals every day, however, beginning the week of July 6th we will move to a 3-day distribution service and double meals will be provided. More details will be forthcoming as we end the current school year.


On Tuesday night, the high school presented many seniors with academic and scholarship awards.  It was a lovely, virtual ceremony.  I have included the link below if you would like to check it out. 

Eastridge High School Scholarship Awards Ceremony 2020


Finally, I wanted to take an opportunity to share the names of our wonderful school district employees and the Board of Education members who will be retiring this June.  Please join me in wishing everyone the best!


Theresa Anderson, 35 years of service                                                                                                         

Robert Aser, 16 years of service

Martha Coye, 14 years of service

Sharon Deuel, 32 years of service

Heather Gilfoy, 16 years of service

Cheryl Gillen, 2 years of service

Judith Kinz, 14 years of service

Jerry Lonthair, 19 years of service

Patti Mazzo, 24 years of service

Don Moroni, 11 years of service

Claudia Murphy, 27 years of service

Jan Nienhuis, 28 years of service

Phil Oberst, 32 years of service

Gretchen Pawlak, 20 years of service

Victoria Romanchik, 15 years of service

Bill Rowe, 34 years of service

Tim Scheg, 28 years of service

Michael Stone, 12 years of service

Bodie Woods, 27 years of service

Karen Sutton, 29 years of service

Board of Education: Mr. Ronald Cooper and Mr. Rich Oxley



Please remember to check out our district website at   There are so many awesome resources!


Lancers strong,




Mary E. Grow

Superintendent of Schools

East Irondequoit CSD